Concentration Camp Lublin, commonly known as Majdanek, was the second biggest Nazi camp in occupied Europe. It was established in 1941, and operated until the day of liberation of Lublin, in July 1944. Within those years it functioned as a concentration, labour, transit, hostage and death camp. After liberation, in November 1944, the State Museum at Majdanek was founded as the first museum in a former Nazi camp in Europe. Some of the prisoners’ barracks and warehouses, the gas chambers bunker and the crematory building are preserved on the territory of today’s State Museum.
Visit: the area of the former camp, prisoners barracks and gas chambers bunker, the exhibition "The Prisoners of Majdanek", the crematorium building and the Monument for Struggle and Martyrdom.
The death camp in Belzec, operating between March and December 1942, was the first place where stationary gas chambers were used for the mass killing of Jews. The first deportation to the camp, on 17th of March 1942 from Lublin, marks the beginning of realization of Action Reinhardt. After liquidation of the camp, in December 1942, all its buildings were dismantled and the area was left empty. The first commemoration on the site was erected in 1963, and in 2004 the Museum - Memorial Site was founded as a branch of the State Museum at Majdanek, and the mass graves were covered with a new monument.
Visit: the memorial on the area of the camp located around 130 km southeast from Lublin, the museum and the commandant’s building.
The death camp, located in the woods near the village of Sobibor, operated between April 1942 and October 1943. It was the second death camp after Belzec to be established within the framework of Action Reinhardt. On October 14, 1943 an armed revolt broke in the camp, resulting in mass escape of prisoners and a German decision to liquidate and close the camp. In 1993 the Museum of the Former Death Camp in Sobibor was established, and since 2012 it operates as a branch of the State Museum at Majdanek.
Visit: the site of the former death camp located around 100 km northeast from Lublin, optional visit to the former shtetl Wlodawa.
Established in the middle of the 18th century, for most of its history this town was an exclusively Jewish settlement. During World War II Izbica ghetto served as a transfer point to the extermination camps in Belzec and Sobibor for Jews deported from Germany, Austria, Czechoslovakia and western Poland. The first mass deportation of ghetto inmates to Belzec death camp took place in March 1942. Mass executions also took place on the Jewish cemetery in the town. Of all Jews of Izbica, only a few survived the Holocaust, one of which was the late Thomas "Toivi" Blatt, a participant in the Sobibor Uprising.
Visit: the main square, buildings with remains of a “sukkah”s, the Jewish cemetery, the monument commemorating the victims of the Holocaust and the train station.