Below you can find information about some of the towns we would like to suggest for you to visit. If you cannot find a town that holds a specific importance to you on the list, we will be happy to prepare a special offer for you.

Belzyce  Bilgoraj  Bychawa  Chelm  Deblin (Irena)  Grabowiec  Hrubieszow  Izbica  Janow Lubelski  Jozefow Bilgorajski  Kazimierz Dolny (Kuzmir)  Kock  Krasnystaw  Krasnik  Lubartow  Lubycza Krolewska  Leczna  Ostrow Lubelski  Parczew  Szczebrzeszyn (Shebreshin)  Tomaszow Lubelski  Tyszowce  Wawolnica Wlodawa  Wojslawice  Zamosc

Bilgoraj

The oldest documents mentioning the Jewish settlement in Bilgoraj are from the year 1597, but there are claims who say that there was a Jewish presence in the town since as early as the second half of the 14th c. The Jewish community, dealing mainly with commerce and crafts, grew to almost half of the town’s population at the turn of the 19th and the 20th c. At this time the position of chief rabbi was held by Jankiel Mordko Zylberman, the grandfather of the author and Nobel Prize winner Isaac Bashevis Singer. After the outbreak of WWII, the Nazis deported a part of the Jewish community to the nearby towns. In 1942, following Operation Reinhardt in the region, the majority of Bilgoraj Jews were murdered in the Belzec death camp.

Visit: the lapidarium on the new Jewish cemetery, the I. B. Singer’s Bench, a shtetl reconstruction - including a replica of an 18th c. wooden synagogue from Wolpa (the Trail of the Borderland Cultures project).

Contact us to plan a tour

Chełm

Chełm - traces of a settlement in the area of Chełm trace back to the 9th century. Jews started moving into Chełm by the 15th century, due to its important location on the trading route between Warsaw and Kiev. Chełm grew to be one of the biggest Jewish communities of the area, reaching up to 15,000 people in the interwar period. Most of Chełm Jewry worked in trade and leather tanning. Chełm is famous in Jewish tradition for the legends about its “wise men”, tales that portray it as the capital of stupidity and absurd behavior. Chełm was captured by the Nazis in October 1939, and by December that year, the first group of 2000 Jewish men was already transported to Hrubieszów on a death march. After the death march a ghetto was established in the city. Most of Chełm Jewry perished in Sobibór death camp.

Visit: the main square, the synagogue building (today a restautant), the Jewish cemetery.

Contact us to plan a tour

Grabowiec

Established in the 13th c., Grabowiec is one of the oldest settlements in the Lublin region. Jews settled there in the 16th c. and within a few decades they have become a majority of the town’s population. In 1941, under Nazi occupation, a ghetto was established in the town, holding around 2000 Jews from Grabowiec and the vicinity. The final liquidation of the ghetto took place on October 1942 with the deportation of the last group of Grabowiec Jews to Sobibor death camp.

Visit: site of the former old and new cemeteries and the Regional Chamber of Memory (the local museum which holds few surviving matzevas from the Grabowiec cemetery).

Contact us to plan a tour

Izbica

Established in the middle of the 18th c., for most of its history the town was an exclusively Jewish settlement. It was the establishing point of Hassidut Izhbitza-Radzin, established by one of Menachem Mendel of Kotzk's students, Rabbi Mordechai Yosef Leiner. During the war, as part of the Reinhard Operation, Izbica ghetto served as a transfer point to the extermination camps in Belzec and Sobibor for Jews deported from Germany, Austria, Czechoslovakia and western Poland. Of all Jews of Izbica, only a few survived the Holocaust, one of which is the late Thomas "Toivi" Blatt, participant of the Sobibor Uprising.

Visit: the main square, buildings with remains of a sukkah, the Jewish cemetery, the monument commemorating the victims of the Holocaust, the train station.

Contact us to plan a tour

Janow Lubelski

Established in the first half of the 17th c., it held a Jewish settlement from the very beginning. Before the World War II, around 50% of its inhabitants were Jews, most of them tradesmen and craftsmen. Janow Lubelski was destroyed during the heavy bombing in September 1939, and most of the Jewish district was burned. In May and November 1942, Jews from Janow were deported to Zaklikow and from there to Belzec death camp. Over 300 people were executed on the Jewish cemetery in the town.

Visit: the place where the synagogue was (synagogue was completely destroyed during WW2, new buildings were built on the spot after the war), a place where the old Jewish cemetery was (currently housing estate), new Jewish cemetery (destroyed during and after the war, no matzeva left).

Contact us to plan a tour

Jozefow Bilgorajski

The Jewish settlement in Jozefow was established with the town, in the 18th c. In the 19th c., Becalel Waks established the first Hebrew printing house in Jozefow. Within the next few decades, the town became famous as the most active printing centre in the Lublin Region, having over half of its Jewish population working in printing and involved in selling books.

Visit: the synagogue building (today a library), Jewish cemetery, quarry, execution site and the memorial in the forest.

Contact us to plan a tour

Kazimierz Dolny (Kuzmir on Vistula)

The Jewish settlement in this town is known to have existed already in the times of King Casimir the Great, who in the 14th c. granted privileges to the Polish Jews. Legend has it that in this town King Casimir had a romance with a Jewish girl called Ester. In the 19th c. tzadik Ezechiel ben Zvi-Hirsch Taub, a disciple of the Seer of Lublin, settled here and made hasidism a mainstream among Kazimierz Jews.

Visit: the synagogue (today museum), the Jewish cemetery and the lapidarium, the main square and its historical buildings and the Three Crosses Hill (viewpoint to the town and Vistula river).

Contact us to plan a tour

Krasnik

Jews were granted the privilege to settle down in the town at the second half of the 16th c., and within the next few centuries, the Jewish town grew around its main square. In the 19th c., Krasnik became an important centre for hasidism with the followers of tzadikim of Ger, Modzitz, Rozwadow and the Eiger family of Lublin.  

Visit: the great synagogue and beth ha-midrash (both renovated), the main square, the building of the mikvah and the Jewish cemetery.

Contact us to plan a tour

Lubartow

The Jewish settlement in Lubartow was established by the end of the 16th c. By the middle of the 19th c., more than a half of its inhabitants were Jewish dealing mainly with trade and crafts. During World War II, a number of Jewish houses were destroyed as well as the main synagogue and the old cemetery. Most of Lubartow Jews perished in Belzec and Sobibor death camps or were executed on Lubartow's cemetery.

Visit: site of the former synagogue, Beth Midrash, the new cemetery and the lapidarium.

Contact us to plan a tour

Parczew

The first Jews settled here by the first half of the 16th c. and the community was growing until the Khmelnitsky Uprising, in the middle of the 17th c., as the Jewish district was almost completely destroyed. During the interwar period around half of the inhabitants of Parczew were Jews (5000 people), most of them dealing with trade and crafts. In March 1941, a ghetto was established here and the Jews of the area were moved into it. The majority of Parczew Jewry was murdered in the death camp of Treblinka or executed in the area of the Jewish cemetery. Parczew is also known for the Jewish partisan group formed in the Parczew woods and led by Aleksander Skotnicki.

Visit: the synagogue and the site of the former cemetery (today serving as a park, no matzevah left), the Partisans Memorial inthe Parczew forest.

Contact us to plan a tour

Szczebrzeszyn (Shebreshin)

The oldest mention of a Jewish community there dates back to the 15th c. Within a few centuries, Jews dealing mainly with crafts and trade settled around the main square. In the 16th c., a cemetery was established on the outskirts of the town’s centre. Today, it is one of the oldest and biggest preserved cemeteries in Poland, holding hundreds of tombstones.

Visit: the synagogue building (today culture centre), Jewish cemetery and the memorial for the victims of mass execution on the site.

Contact us to plan a tour

Wlodawa

The oldest mentions of Jews in Wlodawa dates back to the first half of the 16th c. In 1764, the Jewish community inaugurated the new synagogue, a great Baroque style temple that still stands and is currently used for hosting exhibitions on Wlodawa Jews. By 1942, the population of town was over 70% Jewish, reaching over 5,600 people. During World War II, the Germans established a ghetto in the town, and Jews from the area were moved in, later to be joined by almost 2000 Jews from Vienna, Cracow and Mielec. The majority of Wlodawa Jewry was murdered in the death camp of Sobibor.

Visit: the synagogue's complex: Great synagogue, Small Synagogue and Beth Ha-Midrash.

Contact us to plan a tour

Zamosc

The Old Town of Zamosc is a UNESCO World Heritage site. Zamosc was established in the 16th c. as an ideal renaissance town. Jews settled in Zamosc shortly after its establishment and within a few decades they became an important and influential community in the town. Among the many famous names that originate from its Jewish community, you can find the important Yiddish author I. L. Peretz. Before World War II, around 12,000 Jewish inhabitants had made up to 43% of the population of Zamosc.

Visit: renaissance main square, the Jewish quarter in the Old Town and the renaissance synagogue (today culture centre), the building of the mikvah, the lapidarium at the new cemetery site, the New Town including the area of the ghetto and the new synagogue.

Contact us to plan a tour

Please reload

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Contact us to plan a tour

 
  • TripAdvisor
  • Facebook - Black Circle

© 2017 by ROOTKA